4 FAQ You Need to Know About Cisco Devnet Certifications

Premier Mellanox Selections: best-selling Mellanox Switches, Network Cards, and Cables

Cisco recently announced that their certification and training program include the DevNet certifications.

DevNet certifications is designed for both the network professionals and software developers to optimize and write applications for the new network and choose the technology skills they want to develop.

In this blog, you will get 3 important things about DevNet. Furthermore, you will know how to get a DevNet certification.

Q1. What is DevNet?

Cisco DevNet is Cisco’s developer program. This program helps those developers and IT professionals who want to write applications and develop integrations with Cisco products, platforms, and APIs.

Cisco DevNet includes various Cisco’s products, such as software-defined networking, security, cloud, data center, mobility, internet of things, etc.

free expert service - Router-switchcom

Q2. What’s the difference between Cisco DevNet and traditional certifications?

Cisco traditional certifications, like CCNA, CCNP, CCIE, are the worldwide popular network engineer certifications and Cisco DevNet is the subset of Cisco certifications. It is designed for validate software skills, such as programming, application development, DevOps and automation.

This table shows you the path of DevNet and Cisco traditional certifications.

Level Cisco DevNet Certifications:

Software developer path

Cisco Certifications:

Network engineer path

Associate DevNet Associate CCNA
Specialist DevNet Specialist Specialist
Professional DevNet Professional CCNP
Expert DevNet Expert

(Future offering)


Q3. What are the differences of the 4 Cisco DevNet certifications?

Cisco Devnet certifications includes 4 levels. What are their differences? Let’s learn about them.

Certifications Who can Get? What will the certification validate? Supported Job Roles
DevNet Associate One or more years of hands-on experience developing and maintaining applications that are built on Cisco platforms. Your core knowledge of Cisco platforms, working with applications, Cisco’s programmability strategy, and APIs – Junior Developer/Developer

– Test Development Engineer

– Junior software Engineer

– Junior Application Developer

– Junior Automation Engineer/Automation Engineer

– Junior Cloud Developer

– Junior Site Reliability Engineer (SRE)

– Junior DevOps Engineer

– Associate Site Reliability Engineer (SRE)

– Jr/Entry-level DevOps Engineer

– Test Development Engineer

– Automation Engineer

DevNet Specialist 3-5 years of experiences with application development, operations, security, or infrastructure. Specialized knowledge and skills that connect development, operations, security, and network operations in an environment focused on continuous delivery of applications and services using Cisco platforms and devices Those job in these area:

– Software specialist: Core, DevOps, IoT and Webex

– Automation specialist: Collaboration Automation, Data Center Automation, Security Automation and Service Provider Automation


DevNet Professional At least 3-5 years of experience designing and implementing applications built on Cisco platforms. Two exams cover designing and developing resilient, robust and secure applications using Cisco APIs and platforms, and managing and deploying applications on Cisco infrastructure – Developer/ Sr. Developer

– Software Engineer

– Applications Developer/ Sr. Developer

– Automation Engineer/ Sr. Engineer

– Cloud Developer/ Sr. Cloud Developer

– Site Reliability Engineer (SRE)

– DevOps Engineer/ Sr. DevOps Engineer

– Sr. Test Development Engineer

– Sr. Automation Engineer

– Security Automation Engineer

– Associate Site Reliability Engineer (SRE)

– Jr/Entry-level DevOps Engineer

– Test Development Engineer

– Automation Engineer

DevNet Expert This level will be offered in the future.

Q4. How to get the Cisco DevNet certifications?

Visit these official pages to learn the ways.

1.Cisco Certified DevNet Associate: developer.cisco.com/certification/devnet-associate/

2.Cisco Certified DevNet Specialist

(1) Core: developer.cisco.com/certification/devnet-core/

(2) DevOps: developer.cisco.com/certification/devnet-devops/

(3) IoT: developer.cisco.com/certification/devnet-iot/

(4) Webex: developer.cisco.com/certification/devnet-webex/

(5) Collaboration Automation and Programmability:


(6) Data Center Automation and Programmability


(7) Enterprise Automation and Programmability


(8) Security Automation and Programmability


(9) Service Provider Automation and Programmability


3.Cisco Certified DevNet Professional: developer.cisco.com/certification/devnet-professional/

Now, have you been clear about Cisco DevNet? Do you think you need to get one? Leave your comments.

Info: https://developer.cisco.com/certification/

Share This Post

Post Comment